Urban Wars
January 23, 2018, 11:35:17 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome, here you will find all the information on Urban Wars
 
  Home Help Search Staff List Login Register  

camera height?

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: camera height?  (Read 69 times)
Mexicouger
Lieutenant
*
Posts: 111


View Profile
« on: April 26, 2010, 04:58:36 pm »

Duke, I am very appreciative with all the help you have supplied me with so far. Thank you. But now I have yet another question. Where would I find the camera height and bounding box for the player?   would it`s bounding box box be like   setsize (self, '0 0 0', '24 24 32'); ( not the exact sam numbers of course.) But like that? And is this all done in q cor engine.
Report Spam   Logged

Social Buttons

DukeInstinct
Administrator
Lieutenant
*****
Posts: 120


The ArchDuke


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2010, 06:29:58 pm »

The camera height is based on the center of the bounding box and view_ofs_z.

If the center of the model is 0, 0, 0 then you'd use setsize like this.

setsize(self, '-16 -16 -16', '16 16 16');

I think the first vector parameter defines the bottom left rear corner (mins) and the second vector parameter defines the top right front corner(maxs) of the bounding box.
Report Spam   Logged



Urban Wars Coder/3d Modeler/Animator

Mexicouger
Lieutenant
*
Posts: 111


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2010, 09:28:52 pm »

I have made th eplayer height go from `0 0 22` to `0 0 82`. I have sized all the weapons and muzzleflashes to Show from this angle. Except firbullets. I can`t get that function to show the particles right. And also, I only edited the camera view and the top of the bounding box already went up. What sup with that?
Report Spam   Logged
DukeInstinct
Administrator
Lieutenant
*****
Posts: 120


The ArchDuke


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2010, 10:08:33 pm »

You mean view_ofs right?

Unless you used setsize then the bounding box should stay the same.

If you're using Quake's original firebullets function then you should modify it so it takes into account the new view offset.
Report Spam   Logged



Urban Wars Coder/3d Modeler/Animator

Mexicouger
Lieutenant
*
Posts: 111


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2010, 10:21:03 pm »

I changed      self.view_ofs = `0 0 22`  to view_ofs = `0 0 82`. I expected a much bigger jump in camera view, but it wasn`t very much. What should I change my setsize too? I`m having some major problems with setsize. My current setsize is  (self, `-16 -16 -32`, `16 16 38`   should my size match with the view_ofs? And do you get annoyed at how many questions I ask?
Report Spam   Logged
DukeInstinct
Administrator
Lieutenant
*****
Posts: 120


The ArchDuke


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2010, 11:08:55 pm »

Well you shouldn't have a view_ofs that goes outside your player's bounding box. You might see through the ceiling otherwise.

I'm not annoyed by your questions. They keep the forums somewhat active.
Report Spam   Logged



Urban Wars Coder/3d Modeler/Animator

Mexicouger
Lieutenant
*
Posts: 111


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2010, 11:22:36 pm »

HAha. I do see through the ceiling. Is there any way to edit the bounding box to make it bigger?
Report Spam   Logged
DukeInstinct
Administrator
Lieutenant
*****
Posts: 120


The ArchDuke


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 27, 2010, 12:16:45 am »

setsize makes the bounding box bigger but I think that's only for entity to entity collisions not entity to world collisions. If it does work for world collisions then it will at least prevent you from going under low ceilings that your camera is too high for.
Report Spam   Logged



Urban Wars Coder/3d Modeler/Animator

Mexicouger
Lieutenant
*
Posts: 111


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: April 27, 2010, 06:11:12 am »

Ok,  So how Do I edit world to world collisions?
Report Spam   Logged
Mexicouger
Lieutenant
*
Posts: 111


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: April 28, 2010, 08:50:05 am »

I changed the player height and synce d whatever needed to be changed. But the bounding box stopped me from going any further. Please help me finish this
Report Spam   Logged
Sarge127
"Honoring Our Pride!"
Global Moderator
Specialist
*****
Posts: 48


"Honoring our Pride!"


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: April 28, 2010, 03:24:08 pm »

In haloPC this is nothing.. so duke knows more coding than "I"!
Report Spam   Logged

Mexicouger
Lieutenant
*
Posts: 111


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: April 28, 2010, 04:21:19 pm »

What do you mean? You can code?
Report Spam   Logged
Sarge127
"Honoring Our Pride!"
Global Moderator
Specialist
*****
Posts: 48


"Honoring our Pride!"


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: April 28, 2010, 05:48:12 pm »

Only a little. the coding has nothing to do with this topic.  Tongue
Report Spam   Logged

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


Get your own Chat Box! Go Large!
Bookmark this site! | Upgrade This Forum
SMF For Free - Create your own Forum | Buy traffic for your forum/website

Powered by SMF | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines